Key Details
Event Details
Current Standards
Best Performances
Notes for Parents

Championships Results

All Results (A4 PDF)
A5 booklet (PDF)
Select an Event

Field Event Cards

JB    IB    SB

JG    IG    SG

County & Inter-County

County Championships

Key Details


13th/14th July 2018


Alexander Stadium, Birmingham

Age groups

Juniors (under 15)
Intermediates (under 17)
Seniors (under 19)

Entries Close

Teams must be declared by 9pm on Tuesday 26th June so that things can be prepared in time for the timetabling meeting which is held on the 27th June.

Final deadline for minor spelling changes: 9pm Sunday 1st July.

  • Entries are made by County Team Managers after the County Team is selected following the County Championships.

  • There are no individual entries - this is a competition between County Teams.

Important Rule Change in 2016

The rule for false starts for Seniors will now conform to the current UKA rule where athletes will be immediately disqualified if they
break early. Juniors and Inters will remain with the 'old' rule.

Next Year

The 2019 Championships will again be in Birmingham, the last time before the stadium is demolished to rebuild for the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The ESAA National Championships are the 4th largest athletics event in the World... staged each year. They were televised live by SKY Sports from 2008 to 2013.

Organised entirely by volunteer teachers, we bring together the best athletes in each County in England to compete for the honour of being the best athlete in the Country at their event.

Entry to the event is by virtue of athletes being selected by County Team Managers to represent their County. Prime consideration is given to performances at County Championships which are normally held sometime around the 2nd week of June, but other outstanding performances at other events may be taken into consideration.

Nearly all the UK Olympic Athletics team members have featured in the ESAA Championships, some other Olympic Team members too - just look at the previous teams:

Team GB 2004 Team GB 2008 Team GB 2012