Welcome from John Dobson Chair of Championship Committee.

It gives me great pleasure to extend a warm welcome to you on behalf of the Exeter Championship Committee. Little did we think that the Championships would be returning to Exeter so soon. Fortunately nearly all the members of the 1998 Committee and the helpers have expressed a willingness to be involved again and many have been working hard for the past year. It is wonderful to be able to record that our Secretary, Eileen Mander, was awarded a well-deserved M.B.E. in the New Years Honours List for her service to sport. Sadly Robin Mander, who was such a tower of strength in 1998 suffered a stroke before Christmas, we wish him well in his recovery.
There are so many people and organisations we need to thank for their support but I would, at this stage like to thank Exeter City Council, Devon County Council and Devon and Cornwall Constabulary for their support and advice. Brend Hotels deserve special thanks for their continued interest and sponsorship. To all who are helping and supporting us we say a huge thank you. The local media are also lending their support, which is much appreciated.
The Right Worshipful Mayor of Exeter has agreed to be patron for the 2001 Championships and the Vice Presidents are Sir John Evans, Chief Constable of Devon and Cornwall, together with Mr John and Mr Peter Brend. Lord Morley, who acted as Patron in 1998, wishes to be connected with 2001 in a personal capacity.
There is still no national sponsor for ESAA and this means that we have to make some savings. ESAA have reduced the number of spectator stands to two this year. It is amazing to think that one Premiership footballer can earn in one month enough to sponsor all the ESAA events for a year. It is interesting to note the number of former ESAA Champions who were either considered for the Sydney 2000 Olympics or who did so well. Surely our young athletes deserve support. Here are some names to conjure with!

Former ESAA Title Winners declared in the initial list of Olympic Competitors for Sydney 2000

Dwain ChambersAlison CurbishleyDarren Campbell
Donna FraserMarion DevenishKatharine Merry
Mark RichardsonKelly HolmesJohn Mayock
Paula RadcliffeRob DenmarkDiane Allahgreen
Damien GreavesNatasha DanversTony Jarrett
Kerri MaddoxAnthony BorsumatoJoanne Wise
Ben ChallengerJudy OakesLarry Achike
Denise LewisJonathan EdwardsLisa Kehler
Philip IdowuJo PaveyKeith Cullen
Mark SteineGlen SmithBob Weir
Steve BackleyMick HillDean Macey

Allyn Condon
Nearly all the remaining English members of the Olympic squad competed in the ESAA Championships!
Which names will be added to this list as a result of this years Championships?
Ticketzone will again be handling the majority of the sales for us and details will appear on this site when tickets go on sale.
We look forward to seeing you in Exeter in July.
Best wishes
John Dobson
Championship Committee Chair.